Sri Aurobindo

Yoga Mandir

Sri Aurobindo

Yoga Mandir 

The Nepalese Calendar

The Official Nepalese Calendar

The Nepali era is called Bikram Sambat (Sambat= era). It begins in 57 BC, from the reign of Bikram,a
mythical Hindu sovereign. it is a lunar calendar, which does not always have 365 days in the year. The
Nepalese lunar month begins at the start of the dark fortnight. Thus, the first of the Nepalese  New Year
falls in mid-April of our calendar year. It is the first day of the month of Baisakh.

For example, the first day of this new year 2076 was April 14, but the first day of 2075 was celebrated on
April 15, 2018

Between April and December, we have to add 57 years to our calendar year to know which year we are in
Nepal. From January to April only 56 years should be added to our calendar year.

New Year

April 13, 2020

The New Years Day

Farewell, 2076 BS! – Welcome , 2077BS!

Yes, you read correctly! In Nepal, the year 2077 begins.

There are 4 official calendars:

The afficial calendar (Bikram Sambat), used officially in administrat ion and on afficial documents.

Our Western calendar, used in trade with the West and especially for passports, visas and airline tickets

The Newar calendar (Nepa Sambat), used by the Newar caste. It is a community of
traders who represents the historic ethnicity of the Kathmandu Valley.

The Tibetan calendar used by several ethnic groups in the mountains.

The Nepalese Months

There are also other lesser known calendars specific to the various castes that exist. The Nepalese
therefore celebrate the New Year several times during the same year!

Ashoj= September- October
Kartik= October-November
Poush=December- January
Falgun= February-March
Chaitra = March-April

The Nepalese Seasons

Basanta Ritu ( Mid- March to Mid-May) Spring season

Grishma Ritu (Mid-May to Mid- July) pre-monsoon

Barsha Ritu (Mid- July to Mid-September) monsoon

Sharad Ritu (Mid- September to Mid- November) Autumn season

Hemanta Ritu (Mid-November to Mid-January) Winter season

Shishir Ritu (Mid- January to Mid-March) post winter season

The Other Calendars

The Newar Calendar

The Newar or Newar Sambat era began in 879 AD. it was established on Dctober 20, 879 under the reign of Raghavadeva.

The Newar month, un like the Nepalese month, begins at the start of the clear fortnight.

The first of Newar falls on the first day of the clear fortnight in the Nepalese month of Kartik (October-

Newar will thus celebrate their new year around the end of October at the beginning of November
it will be the beginning of the year 1141

The Tibetan Calendar

On February 25, 2020, Tibetans celebrated the start of their 2,147th year.

The Tibetan calendar is a lunar calendar that begins with the accession to the throne of a mythical
Tibetan king, in the year 127 Bc. AD

It was the Sherpas, of Tibetan origin, who adapted the Tibetan calendar.

The first of the year is called Losar and falls on the first day after the new moon in February.

Nepali Date Converter

शुक्र, असार १७, २०७९